Zagat Rated Facebook

phone 508.385.2133

visit 905 Route 6A, Dennis, MA

Join Our Mailing List

Reviews for the Red Pheasant

Affordable Gourmet Experience

July 2017

Affordable gourmet experience in an historic 200 year old building. Very pleasant, professional staff. Each entree is paired with an vegetable and potato or starch that complements it. We were seated in the garden room, overlooking the herb garden, where chef/owner, Bill Atwood grows the herbs he cooks with. My wife enjoyed her duckling, a boneless half breast that was nicely browned and served with a cranberry port wine sauce. No fat or grease was evident in this excellent presentation. My pan-seared bay scallops were as sweet and tender as could be, served over a delicious asparagus risotto The Red Pheasant just celebrated their 40th anniversary. This is quite an achievement in the restaurant world today and a testimonial to its quality. Having the owners on site as chef and greeter(wife, Denise) means a lot and has contributed to the success of this quaint, comfortable restaurant. Entree prices range from the mid 20s to the mid 30s and are well worth it, considering that it's a full meal, not just an entree. The Red Pheasant is our dependable go-to place for a great meal, for an anniversary or before a show at the nearby Cape Playhouse. Eating here is a fine dining experience, meaning that our dinner on a Saturday evening took about 80 minutes with no appetizer or dessert. Just plan accordingly.

 
 

best restaurants on the Cape

July 2017

The Red Pheasant Inn just might be one of the very best restaurants on the Cape. I dare anyone to have the appetizer consisting of escargot, gnocchi and button mushrooms 
and say they've had better.

Consistency of Experience

6/26/2017
5.0 star rating
6/26/2017

I'm writing a review here that is long overdue. Whenever I write I want to know the place well and have a consistency of experience that gives me enough certainty to write about it.   I have enjoyed this place consistently for over a decade and it is still fresh and pleasing every time I go. 

It delivers a sophisticated yet relaxed dining experience with knowledgeable service that's attentive, crisp and yet professionally informal.  They've been doing farm to table dining since long before it was known as such.  Red Pheasant is located in the heart of the Cape but could easily be in, and compete with, any restaurant in any city on the East Coast. These people are pros with absolute dedication to their craft.  No restaurant can survive in this business, let alone play at this level, for decades without a very strong and reliable offering.  

The chef takes on classic French dishes with a fresh and inventive approach.  Last weekend I had a salade nicoise that was a revelation, as I thought I had seen that dish in every configuration possible.  A deconstruction of the elements, including ahi tuna and a "one hour egg", both so perfectly done and so delicious and enjoyable that I forgot to take a picture.  No matter.  I will return - as I have been doing for years.

Hidden Gem

June 2017
“Charming and delicious!”
Reviewed 5 days ago
NEW
 via mobile

This was definitely a hidden gem! My husband and I were having difficulty finding a place in town that was not booked. We took a drive to Dennis and stumbled upon this restaurant. It was fantastic! Everyone was so nice despite the fact that we did not have reservations. They give you a delicious puff pastry to start with homemade focaccia bread. We had linguini and clam sauce and sole with lemon butter sauce. Delicious! 
Highly recommend with reservation!

Visited June 2017

 

Another Wonderful Evening

April 2017
"Another wonderful evening ”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

The Red Pheasant has always been a favorite of ours. Tonight I sat at the bar and the evening did not disappoint. I had the baked Oyster special appetizer and for dinner the Pan Seared Day Boat Scallops... both were delicious. As always the service was friendly and attentive. It was a wonderful evening all around.

Visited April 2017
 

Quality dining in a charming atmosphere

January 2016

This restaurant is a cut above the others and probably the finest dining in the area. The staff are also attentive and willing to accommodate special requests for sauces, etc. They are eager to please and it shows.

Hosting • Design • Development: Community Internet Cape Cod Web Hosting